[av_textblock size=” font_color=” color=” custom_class=’news-title’] 2012 AEF Grant Winners Announced
[/av_textblock] [av_textblock size=” font_color=” color=” custom_class=”] The American Eagle Foundation has announced the winners of its first annual nationwide Bald Eagle project grants.

AEF has awarded $99,490 for projects within the grant limit of $100,000 for 2012.

The following 8 winning projects are listed alphabetically by lead agency, with most having multiple partners and cooperators:

  1. Arizona Game & Fish Department
    Arizona Bald Eagle Nest Watch – $10,000.
  2. Florida Audubon
    Florida Audubon Eagle Nest Watch – $15,000.
  3. Georgia Department of Natural Resources
    Monitoring & Research of AVM Disease (Avian Vacuolar Myelinopathy) in Bald Eagles – $13,719.
  4. Iowa Department of Natural Resources
    Training Video for Volunteer Nest Monitors – $17,200.
  5. Iowa State University
    Lead Exposure in Iowa Bald Eagles – $11,179.
  6. New Jersey Conserve Wildlife
    New Jersey Bald Eagle Nest Monitoring – $10,000.
  7. Oregon State University
    Web Enhancements for Reviewing and Analyzing Nationwide Winter Eagle Counts – $12,392.
  8. U.S. Forest Service
    Monitoring & Analysis of Bald Eagle Winter Roosts in Northern Arizona – $10,000.

AEF obtained funding for this grant program in 2004, when both the U.S. Senate and House UNANIMOUSLY passed the ‘Bald Eagle Commemorative Coin Act.’ Congress authorized the U.S. Mint to mint gold, silver and clad coins, which they sold to the public in 2008.  AEF continues to make those coins available to the public via its web site.

Sales from the U.S. Mint generated $7.8 million in 2004, which Congress designated that AEF utilize for the benefit of Bald Eagles.  AEF set aside 75% of these funds, or approximately $5.8 million, to perpetually grow in the American Eagle Fund to provide competitive annual grants for Bald Eagle projects.

AEF utilizes a 12-person ‘Bald Eagle Grant Advisory Team’ to numerically rate all grant applications.  This team consists of some of the most outstanding nationwide eagle authorities.

Congratulations to all our winners!