American Eagle Foundation
Home » Programs » Bald Eagle Grants → » 2012 AEF Grant Winners

2012 AEF Grant Winners Announced

The American Eagle Foundation has announced the winners of its first annual nationwide bald eagle project grants.

AEF has awarded $99,490 for projects within the grant limit of $100,000 for 2012. 

The following 8 winning projects are listed alphabetically by lead agency, with most having multiple partners and cooperators:

  1. Arizona Game & Fish Department:  “Arizona Bald Eagle Nest Watch” - $10,000. 
  2. Florida Audubon:  “Florida Audubon Eagle Nest Watch” - $15,000. 
  3. Georgia Department of Natural Resources:  “Monitoring & Research of AVM Disease (Avian Vacuolar Myelinopathy) in Bald Eagles” - $13,719.
  4. Iowa Department of Natural Resources: “Training Video for Volunteer Nest Monitors” - $17,200.
  5. Iowa State University:  “Lead Exposure in Iowa Bald Eagles” - $11,179.
  6. New Jersey Conserve Wildlife:  “New Jersey Bald Eagle Nest Monitoring” - $10,000.
  7. Oregon State University:  “Web Enhancements for Reviewing and Analyzing Nationwide Winter Eagle Counts” - $12,392.
  8. U.S. Forest Service:  “Monitoring & Analysis of Bald Eagle Winter Roosts in Northern Arizona” - $10,000.

AEF obtained funding for this grant program in 2004, when both the U.S. Senate and House UNANIMOUSLY passed the “Bald Eagle Commemorative Coin Act.” Congress authorized the U.S. Mint to mint gold, silver and clad coins, which they sold to the public in 2008.  AEF continues to make those coins available to the public via its web site.

Sales from the U.S. Mint generated $7.8 million in 2004, which Congress designated that AEF utilize for the benefit of Bald Eagles.  AEF set aside 75% of these funds, or approximately $5.8 million, to perpetually grow in the American Eagle Fund to provide competitive annual grants for Bald Eagle projects. 

AEF utilizes a 12-person “Bald Eagle Grant Advisory Team” to numerically rate all grant applications.  This team consists of some of the most outstanding nationwide eagle authorities. 

Congratulations to all our winners!


This site is best viewed in a non-InternetExplorer browser.
Please Click Here...